Sidney Poitier

“Sidney Poitier created a one-man revolution in the way the cinema portrayed people of color. The dignity, intelligence and truth he brought to every role he accepted had immeasurable impact in paving the way to the advancement in civil rights in the last half of the 21st century.” Said Dr. Dorothy I. Height, chair/ president emerita of the National Council of Negro Women

 

Sidney Poitier in the 1967 Norman Jewison’s film “In the Heat of the Night”

“What you doin’ here, man?

– Policeman.

– You’re a policeman here in Sparta?

– They’ve got a murder they don’t know what to do with. They need a whipping boy.

– You got a roof?

– No. I’ll find a motel.

– (laught) Viola… We got company.

– There was a time… When I could have had you shot.

– All right. Give me another day. Two days. I’m close. I can pull that fat cat down I can bring him right off this hill!

– Oh, boy. Man, you’re just like the rest of us. Ain’t you?

– OK, black boy. We come here to teach you some manners. Why don’t you come and get it, baby? Hit him, man! Get him from the side!

– All right, what’ll you have, Virgil?

– I ain’t serving him!

